Start Planning

Finland Public Holidays 2017

Today – 18 December 2017 – is not a holiday in Finland.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
6 JanFriEpiphany
14 AprFriGood Friday
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonMay Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
4 JunSunWhit Sunday
24 JunSatMidsummer Day
4 NovSatAll Saints' Day
6 DecWedIndependence Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTue2nd Day of Christmas

The Republic of Finland currently celebrates 12 national holidays. National holidays are determined by Parliament and official holiday lists are released each year.

Under the guidelines of Parliament, Saturday and Sundays are official non-working days in Finland. Sundays are almost revered as holidays because each one has a special meaning according to the liturgical calendar.

Holidays remain on the date that they occur for most events. If a holiday occurs on a Sunday, it may be moved to the following date. In most case, only Easter is moved to a Monday celebration. Many government offices and banks will close early on the eve of a large holiday. Many employers have followed this tradition and close at 1:00 p.m. on the eve of a holiday.

Most viewed holidays today: